Blog 9, actually 10… forgot the mid-term!

Last week in class we watched some creepy animation. Not a fan. Not a fan at all. most of the Tim Burton stuff, I can handle. I feel that is probably the result of having grown up in the 80’s and seeing the likes of Beetlejuice and junk. I dig the Nightmare Before Christmas, too and lets be honest, anything having to do with Willy Wonka rocks harder than Led Zeppelin, so no beef here with Tim Burton.

That said, the shorts that we viewed before Coraline just gave me the heebee-jeebees. That stuff is freaky! Let me get one thing clear, I’m not a fan of scary stuff. Sure this confession may make me less of the big strong man I am, but whatever. I’ll admit that I do once in a blue moon get the itch to watch something a wee bit scary, usually around Halloween, but otherwise (aside from a lame paranormal show on ScyFy) I don’t do that. Heck, I’m one of those wusses who changes the channel when I’m home alone at night and a scary commercial comes on. I tried to figure out where my chicken-like tendencies come from and given this is an animation class, my earliest memories of being freaked out can actually be traced to animation, and Disney animation at that! Yes, folks, as a wee little lad, the following, quite frankly, scared the pee pee outta me!

9 thoughts on “Blog 9, actually 10… forgot the mid-term!

  1. Ah yes, the headless horseman, quite scary! Beetlejuice was pretty sick too, as was Coraline. But isn’t it fascinating that animations can have such a powerful impact, even on an adult psyche? I don’t understand the fascination with the REAL horror flicks that show the gore upfront and personal. Animation, I can handle and even enjoy when its a little twisted.

    • I don’t know if I’d say Beetlejuice and Coraline were “sick.” It is interesting how animations can have such a powerful impact on adult psyche, even more so that children can enjoy them without even getting or understanding the depths of what is on screen.

  2. As a kid, I used to believe that if someone died or got their body parts chopped off in a movie that they actually had to do that in real life haha. This stuff was quite terrifying for me as well and I definitely don’t think I would have been able to sleep without the lights on for a few weeks. Even the nightmare before christmas was too much for me!

    • I don’t remember the Nightmare BEfore Christmas as being that bad, but.. I’ll take your word for it! I dont know if I thought when a person got a body part chopped off if it was real as a kid. I think it was kind of the same thing as pro wrestling, I never thought it was real-real nor fake-fake.. just.. it was what it was and one day I looked back and wondered at which point I hade the transition in my belief. Make sense? I do know for a fact, that that headless horseman with the jack-o-lantern head freaked me out!

  3. Pingback: Comments, Comments, Comments!!! | tpm77

  4. Pingback: my comments « oliviacgreen

  5. I’m usually the same way with scary movies and such, but I don’t know, something about scary animation makes it less scary, if that makes sense. Don’t get me wrong, that short we saw in class was freaky and a lot of old Disney scenes can be quite scary, the Headless Horseman and Snow White in the woods for example, but something about the fact that it’s being animated and not live action makes it easier for me to handle. I actually quite liked Coraline.

    • I agree… something about it being animated makes it less freaky. That said I kind of feel like a hypocrite in a way, because I’m totally a firm believer that all animation is NOT for kids… there are some out there who feel that way and let little impressionable children watch South Park or Family Guy… no no.. so.. yea.. maybe I’ll boycot all scary animation from now on.. lol

  6. Pingback: My Comments (UPDATED 4/8) « jcampione

Leave a Reply

